European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers

About EUPL

Aim of the Prize

The aim of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is to put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and to encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

The works of the selected winners (one per country participating in the Prize on a rotation basis) will reach a wider and international audience, and touch readers beyond national and linguistic borders.

The Prize is financed by the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission, which aims to achieve three main goals: to promote cross-border mobility of those working in the cultural sector; to encourage the transnational circulation of cultural and artistic output; and to foster intercultural dialogue.

As the consortium selected by the European Commission to coordinate the initiative, the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers' Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) are jointly responsible for the setting up of the national juries and the practical organisation of the award ceremony.

The Prize competition is open to the 41 countries currently involved in the Creative Europe programme. Each year, national juries in a third of the participating countries nominate their winning authors, making it possible for all countries and language areas to be represented over a three-year cycle.

The first three-year cycle was completed in 2009-2011, the second cycle in 2012-2014.

Countries participating in the Creative Europe programme 2014-2020:

For more information on the Creative Europe programme, please see the Official journal of the European Union.

Selection Process

The winning authors are selected by qualified juries set up in each of the countries participating in the award.

The emerging authors are selected on the basis of criteria stipulated by the European Commission and fulfill in particular the following requirements:

Selected countries in 2021

Selected countries in 2020

Selected countries in 2019

Selected countries in 2017

Selected countries in 2016

Selected countries in 2015

Selected countries in 2014

Countries participating in the Culture Programme 2007-2013

Selected countries in 2013

Selected countries in 2012

Selected countries in 2011

Selected countries in 2010

Selected countries in 2009

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the  ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence