European Union Prize for Literature

Creative EuropeEuropean and International Booksellers FederationEuropean Writers' CouncilFederation of European Publishers

Awards Ceremonies

The ceremony took place in Brussels on September 28, 2009.

The consortium has co-organised the awards ceremony, whose aim it is to put the public spotlight on the EUPL and its European dimension.

At the Flagey Theatre in Brussels, twelve emerging European authors received the new European Union Prize for Literature during a ceremony attended by 800 people from the European cultural scene. European Commission President José Manuel Barroso and writer Henning Mankell launched the event with a dialogue about literature. They concluded that the real value of this prize will be its success to get literature across borders in Europe and beyond.

Pirjo Hiidenmaa, President of the European Writers' Council, John McNamee, President of the European Booksellers Federation and Federico Motta, President of the Federation of European Publishers, represented the consortium of the EUPL.

Download the PDF